Skip to main content

Compare · Checked

StoreBay vs 6Storage

6Storage has its own access control, bills in several currencies and is rated 4.7 from 90 reviews on Capterra UK. It quotes on request. StoreBay publishes its price, and collects Bacs Direct Debit through your own GoCardless account.

Choose StoreBay if

  • You want a published price, not a quote
  • You want Bacs Direct Debit through your own GoCardless account
  • You want to leave at the end of the month you cancel

Choose 6Storage if

  • You want access control from the same supplier as your software
  • You need billing in more than one currency
  • You want a supplier rated 4.7 from 90 reviews on Capterra UK

Reviewed by Phil McParlane, Founder

01 / At a glance

StoreBay and 6Storage, side by side

From 6Storage’s website, its terms and its Capterra UK listing, checked 13 October 2026.

  • Available
  • Coming soon
  • No
  • No public evidence
CapabilityStoreBay6Storage
Fill more units
Website and online bookingStoreBay

IncludedYour own website; customers book and pay online

How online booking works

6Storage

Website service add-onCustomers book, reserve and pay online

Licence signed onlineStoreBay

IncludedSigned in checkout or from an emailed link

How licences are signed

6Storage

Own e-signSigned online; contracts built from templates

Automate the day-to-day
Bacs Direct DebitStoreBay

IncludedThrough your own GoCardless account

How payments work

6Storage

Bacs not statedNames ACH (US) and SEPA (euro); no UK scheme named

Reminders and late feesStoreBay

IncludedEmail and text reminders on your schedule; late fees

How chasing works

6Storage

Automatic reminders, late feesListed in its payment and invoicing features

Gate and lock controlStoreBay

IncludedConnected to the gate system you run, at setup

How gate access works

6Storage

Own system plus partners6Security locks out customers with past-due balances

Run every site from one place
Every site, one viewStoreBay

IncludedReports across sites and live site maps

How reporting works

6Storage

One login, every siteEvery location’s details within one account

API and webhooksStoreBay

IncludedAPI keys and webhooks, on the one plan

About the API

6Storage

Coming soonIts integrations page lists Open API as coming soon

Billing in several currenciesStoreBay

Pounds onlyBills in pounds sterling today

6Storage

Multiple currenciesAccept, invoice, report and reconcile in several currencies

Trust
UK data hostingStoreBay

LondonPrimary data in DigitalOcean’s London data centre

How your data is looked after

6Storage

UK hosting not statedNames in-country hosting for Canada only

Public reviewsStoreBay

None yetStoreBay is new

6Storage

4.7 from 90 reviewsCapterra UK, 13 October 2026

Security certificationStoreBay

None yetNo independent certification or audit report

6Storage

None namedIts DPA offers yearly security audits on request

Not scored in this table: web design and marketing. It is under “What each one does better”.

02 / How they look

How each one looks

StoreBay on the same jobs. These screens come from a demo account, so every name and figure in them is sample data. We set a vendor’s own published screens beside ours where it has published them.

Booking online

How a visitor books a unit online, from choosing a size onwards. Look at what the page asks for, and in what order.

StoreBay’s checkout, step 1 of 5: choose a size, then your details, extras, agreement and payment.

Sample dataOpen full size

Your day, on one screen

The home screen: the day’s numbers and what needs doing. Look at how much of the day you can see without clicking anywhere.

StoreBay’s Home screen, whole: the numbers, then what needs you today.

Sample dataOpen full size

Payments

Where the money shows: each payment, how it was taken and whether it went through. Look at how easily you can tell what is paid, what is pending and what has failed.

StoreBay’s Payments screen, whole: every payment, with its method and its status.

Sample dataOpen full size

Reports

How you see across your sites: the overview figures and the reports behind them. Look at what you can learn at a glance and what takes a click.

StoreBay’s Reports screen: the overview cards, and the list of reports below them.

Sample dataOpen full size

What happened, in order

What happened on one customer’s account, in order: agreements, charges, invoices and the activity timeline. Look at how quickly you could answer a customer who asks what happened.

A StoreBay customer page: agreements, charges and invoices, and what happened on the account, in order.

Sample dataOpen full size

These are StoreBay’s own screens, from a demo account. The names and figures in them are sample data.

03 / Prices and plans

What you’d pay, and how each one charges

6Storage doesn’t list fixed prices: it quotes on your unit count, workflow and growth goals. StoreBay’s price is published at every size.

StoreBay at six sizes

UnitsPaying monthly12-month plan, per month
50£63£52
100£87£72
250£159£132
500£279£232
1,000£519£432
2,000£999£832

Before VAT. The 12-month plan is a 12-month commitment, still invoiced monthly.

Work out your own number with StoreBay’s price calculator.

How each one charges

StoreBay6Storage
Price listStoreBayPublished, with a calculator that prices up to 20,000 units.6StorageNot published: it gives a custom quote based on your unit count, workflow and growth goals.
Extra sitesStoreBayIncluded: another site costs nothing.6StorageNot published.
Taking paymentsStoreBayCards go through your own Stripe or Global Payments account, and Direct Debits through your own GoCardless account.6StorageProcessors to choose from by country, including Fortis, Stripe, Moneris in Canada and Nets in Europe.
Payment feesStoreBayYour provider’s own rates and nothing on top: Stripe charges 1.5% + 20p for standard UK cards, and GoCardless 1% + 20p plus VAT, capped at £4.6StorageRates not published on its payment partner pages.
OnboardingStoreBayNo fee. Setting you up and moving your data across are part of the plan.6StorageNot published.
Contract and noticeStoreBayMonthly has no minimum term and ends at the end of the month you cancel. The 12-month plan is a 12-month commitment.6StorageIt says it doesn’t lock you into long-term contracts. Its master agreement asks for at least 60 days’ written notice, and your order prevails where the two conflict.

What 6Storage says about its price

6Storage’s own words on its pricing: a custom quote from its team, as shown on its management software page.

Image: 6Storage, fromwww.6storage.com/self-storage-management-softwareFetched 12 October 2026Open full size

04 / Where each is stronger

What each one does better

Neither does everything. Here’s where each one leads, from the same sources as the rest of this page.

Where StoreBay is stronger

  • A price you can see

    StoreBay publishes its price, with a calculator that prices up to 20,000 units. 6Storage doesn’t list fixed prices: it quotes on request.

  • Bacs Direct Debit in your own account

    StoreBay collects Bacs Direct Debit through your own GoCardless account. 6Storage’s pages name ACH and SEPA bank payments, and “local payment gateways” for UK operators; we found no mention of Bacs or Direct Debit.

  • Leave at the end of the month

    StoreBay’s monthly plan has no minimum term and ends at the end of the month you cancel. 6Storage’s master agreement asks for at least 60 days’ written notice, and your order prevails where the two conflict.

  • Your primary data in London

    StoreBay keeps its primary data in DigitalOcean’s London data centre. 6Storage’s international page offers “domestically hosted data storage” for its Canadian market; we found no statement of where it hosts UK operators’ data.

Where 6Storage is stronger

  • Its own access control, 6Security

    6Storage has its own access control, 6Security, which blocks customers with past-due balances and lets them back in once they pay. It also connects to partners such as OpenTech and PTI.

  • Several currencies and countries

    With 6Storage, operators can accept, invoice, report and reconcile payments in several currencies. Its international page says its features tailored for UK operators include “integrations with local payment gateways and adherence to regional regulations”. StoreBay bills in pounds only.

  • Web design and marketing

    6Storage’s web designers build your website with you from its templates, with online booking built in, and it can be finished in up to 14 days after your first submission. It also offers marketing services, including SEO, Google Ads and an AI chatbot.

  • Phone support and an account manager

    6Storage lists email and phone support and a shared account manager among its features, and an after-hours team answers support tickets six days a week. StoreBay’s support is by email.

  • Owner-run, with public reviews

    6Storage says it’s independently owned and run by a storage facility owner of 18+ years, and it’s rated 4.7 from 90 reviews on Capterra UK, checked 13 October 2026. StoreBay is new and has no public reviews yet.

05 / Switching

Moving from 6Storage to StoreBay

What comes across, how you check it, and what you set up again.

  1. 1

    We bring your records across

    Your customers, units and agreements come across in a guided import that our team runs with you.

  2. 2

    You check before anything is saved

    Every import runs as a dry run first, so you see exactly what will be created before anything is saved.

  3. 3

    Payment details are planned separately

    Saved cards and Direct Debit instructions don’t come across in the import. We plan that part with you before you switch.

Before you give notice to 6Storage

  • Check your notice period

    6Storage’s master agreement runs until either side ends it, and asks for at least 60 days’ written notice to end it or an order. Your order prevails where the two conflict, and ending the agreement alone doesn’t end an active order.

  • Ask for your data in writing

    6Storage’s master agreement says it returns your data in a commonly used format, or deletes it, at your written request and expense. Its data processing addendum adds that if you give no instructions within 15 days of termination, it securely deletes the personal data you provided.

  • Ask about off-boarding

    6Storage’s terms say leaving may trigger a billable project, under a separate order at its then-prevailing rates. If it hosts your website, moving it to a new host is at your own expense; once its fees are paid, the site’s content, design and any custom code built for you are yours.

  • Keep your own copy

    Download the reports, invoices and records you want to keep before your account closes.

Read the full switching guide

06 / Support

Support, onboarding and moving your data

StoreBay6Storage
SupportStoreBayEmail from our UK team, Monday to Friday, 9am to 5:30pm. We aim to reply within one working day.6StorageBy email and phone. Its technical support agents, in St Louis, Missouri, are available 7:30am to 4:30pm US Central time on weekdays, and an after-hours team answers tickets six days a week.
OnboardingStoreBayIncluded: our team sets you up, as part of the plan.6StorageA setup checklist about your business, then guided onboarding and a one-to-one training session.
Moving your dataStoreBayOur team brings your customers, units and agreements across, with a preview before anything is saved. Saved cards and Direct Debit instructions are planned separately, with you.6StorageIts setup checklist asks for your units, prices, discounts, tax settings and current customers’ balances and credits; then it sets up your account.

07 / Questions

StoreBay and 6Storage: common questions

6Storage doesn’t list fixed prices: it gives a custom quote based on your unit count, workflow and growth goals. Its Capterra UK listing gives its starting price as “Not provided by vendor”, checked 13 October 2026. StoreBay’s price is published: £63 a month for 50 units and £519 for 1,000, plus VAT, with every site included.

08 / How we compared

How we compared, and our sources

Read on the day, in a browser

We read 6Storage’s website, its terms and its Capterra UK listing in a real browser on 13 October 2026, and kept the text we quote.

No guessed prices

6Storage doesn’t list fixed prices, so this page prints no 6Storage price. We never estimate one.

“No public evidence” is not “no”

When we can’t find something on a vendor’s public pages, we say exactly that and nothing stronger.

StoreBay’s column is what’s live today

StoreBay’s column describes the product as it is today. Anything we don’t offer is marked “No”.

6Storage is a trade mark of its owner. StoreBay is not affiliated with 6Storage. Facts about 6Storage come from the public pages listed under Sources, on the dates shown; tell us if something has changed.

One plan · every site included

Ready to compare StoreBay with 6Storage on your own numbers?

No obligation · UK-based support