Compare · Checked
StoreBay vs Space Manager
Space Manager lists at least ten supported access providers and fifteen payment providers, and says it has more than 30 years’ experience. It gives pricing on request. StoreBay publishes its price, and keeps its primary data in London.
Choose StoreBay if
- You want a published price, not a quote
- You want your primary data hosted in London
- You want unlimited staff logins on one plan
Choose Space Manager if
- You want gate and lock connections working today
- You want a supplier with a long track record
- You want a choice of payment providers
Reviewed by Phil McParlane, Founder
01 / At a glance
StoreBay and Space Manager, side by side
From Space Manager’s own website, help pages and Spaceman Cloud terms of service (headed “Space Manager Infinity”), its Capterra UK listing, its SSA UK directory entry and the Companies House record of the company that sells it, checked 9 October 2026.
- Available
- Partly
- Coming soon
- No
- No public evidence
| Capability | StoreBay | Space Manager |
|---|---|---|
| Fill more units | ||
| Website and online booking | StoreBay IncludedYour own website; customers book and pay online | Space Manager Online booking (Spaceman Shop)Book and pay by Stripe; links from your site |
| Licence signed online | StoreBay IncludedSigned in checkout or from an emailed link | Space Manager E-sign via SignableYour Signable account; sent after paying |
| Automate the day-to-day | ||
| Bacs Direct Debit | StoreBay IncludedThrough your own GoCardless account | Space Manager Bacs via GoCardlessTransactions created after invoicing; staff send them |
| Reminders and late fees | StoreBay IncludedYour reminder schedule; automatic late fees | Space Manager Late fees and late lettersReminders mentioned in 2024 and 2025 news items |
| Gate and lock control | StoreBay Coming soonPrompts staff to padlock overdue units; records it | Space Manager At least ten access providersLate-payer lock-out not stated |
| Run every site from one place | ||
| Every site, one view | StoreBay IncludedReports across sites and live site maps | Space Manager Several sites, one platformPerformance and billing across facilities |
| API and webhooks | StoreBay IncludedAPI keys and webhooks, on the one plan | Space Manager API access, as a moduleNo public documentation found |
| Custom roles, unlimited staff | StoreBay IncludedUnlimited staff and custom roles on the one plan | Space Manager Security profiles; licensed loginsOrder form may limit users; fair-usage policy applies |
| Trust | ||
| UK data hosting | StoreBay LondonPrimary data in DigitalOcean’s London data centre | Space Manager UK hosting not statedHosting location not named |
| Public reviews | StoreBay None yetStoreBay is new | Space Manager 4.7 from 7 reviewsCapterra UK, 9 October 2026 |
| Security certification | StoreBay None yetNo independent certification or audit report | Space Manager None namedDescribes card payments as PCI-compliant |
Not scored in this table: more ways to take payments, dynamic pricing and e-invoicing, more languages, a version for your own computers and accounting built in. They are under “What each one does better”.
02 / Prices and plans
What you’d pay, and how each one charges
We found no price list on Space Manager’s website: it says its pricing scales with the number of storage units under management, and asks you to speak with its team. StoreBay’s price is published at every size.
StoreBay at six sizes
| Units | Paying monthly | 12-month plan, per month |
|---|---|---|
| 50 | £63 | £52 |
| 100 | £87 | £72 |
| 250 | £159 | £132 |
| 500 | £279 | £232 |
| 1,000 | £519 | £432 |
| 2,000 | £999 | £832 |
Before VAT. The 12-month plan is a 12-month commitment, still invoiced monthly.
Work out your own number with StoreBay’s price calculator.
How each one charges
| StoreBay | Space Manager | |
|---|---|---|
| Price list | StoreBayPublished, with a calculator that prices up to 20,000 units. | Space ManagerNot published: its pricing page asks you to speak with its team for pricing guidance. |
| Plans | StoreBayOne plan, priced by your units. Another site or another member of staff costs nothing. | Space ManagerPriced by the number of storage units, with the cost per unit typically falling as a portfolio grows. Payment gateway and access control integrations, API access, and onboarding and data migration support are listed as optional integrations and modules. |
| Extra sites | StoreBayIncluded: another site costs nothing. | Space ManagerNot published. Its pricing page says the number of facilities may also influence the price. |
| Taking payments | StoreBayCards go through your own Stripe or Global Payments account, and Direct Debits through your own GoCardless account. | Space ManagerThrough Stripe or GoCardless, its two official payment integrations, or one of the thirteen more supported payment providers it lists. Card payments in its online shop go through Stripe. |
| VAT | StoreBayShown before VAT, which is added at the prevailing rate. | Space ManagerIts Spaceman Cloud terms of service say fees are exclusive of VAT, which is added to the invoice at the applicable rate. |
| Onboarding | StoreBayNo fee. Setting you up and moving your data across are part of the plan. | Space ManagerIts pricing page says onboarding and implementation support are typically scoped to the size and complexity of your operation. Its FAQ page says that if you would rather not follow its installation instructions, its team will install the program on a new PC for a nominal set-up charge for each PC. |
| Contract and notice | StoreBayMonthly has no minimum term and ends at the end of the month you cancel. The 12-month plan is a 12-month commitment. | Space ManagerIts Spaceman Cloud terms of service renew automatically for successive one-year terms after the initial term, which the order form sets. |
03 / Where each is stronger
What each one does better
Neither does everything. Here’s where each one leads, from the same sources as the rest of this page.
Where StoreBay is stronger
A price you can see
StoreBay publishes its price, with a calculator that prices up to 20,000 units. We found no price list on Space Manager’s website: its pricing page asks you to speak with its team.
Unlimited staff and custom roles
StoreBay’s one plan includes unlimited staff logins and roles you define yourself. Space Manager’s Spaceman Cloud terms of service define a fair-usage policy by concurrent connections for every 100 active units, and say the order form may limit the number of authorised users.
E-signing built in
StoreBay’s e-signing is its own, so there’s no separate account to connect: customers sign the agreement as part of booking online, or from a link you email. With Space Manager, a customer is emailed a Signable link after paying for a booking, through your own Signable account. A June 2024 news item on its website also says it is compatible with DocuSign.
Your primary data in London
StoreBay keeps its primary data in DigitalOcean’s London data centre. We found no hosting location named on Space Manager’s public pages. Its Spaceman Cloud terms of service say the company that sells it will not transfer personal data outside the UK or EEA unless appropriate protections are in place.
Where Space Manager is stronger
Gate and lock systems, working today
Space Manager lists at least ten supported access providers, and says it can make bespoke integrations to most systems that have a suitable API. Spaceman Shop can run the access process when a booking completes, a setting that is off by default. StoreBay’s access integrations are coming soon.
More ways to take payments
Space Manager names Stripe and GoCardless as its official payment integrations and lists thirteen more supported payment providers. A September 2024 news item on its website also says it can connect to a Stripe terminal in store. StoreBay takes cards through your own Stripe or Global Payments account, and Direct Debits through your own GoCardless account.
Dynamic pricing and e-invoicing
Space Manager’s payments page lists dynamic pricing, which it describes as adjusting pricing based on demand, seasonality or operational rules. It also says it supports e-invoicing as an additional option.
A long track record and public reviews
The company that sells Space Manager says it started in the UK in 1992, and Space Manager says it reflects more than 30 years of experience supporting storage operators. It’s rated 4.7 from 7 reviews on Capterra UK. StoreBay is new and has none yet.
More languages
Capterra UK lists Space Manager’s languages as English, French, German, Polish, Spanish and one other. Its March 2026 release notes say the Shop and Portal are now available in Norwegian.
A version for your own computers
Capterra UK lists Space Manager as deployable in the cloud or on premise, and its support form separates Spaceman Local from Spaceman Cloud. Its platform page describes Spaceman Cloud as running entirely through a web browser, and its FAQ page says its program has to be installed on a new PC. Ask which applies to your set-up.
Accounting built in
Space Manager’s SSA UK directory entry says it has built-in double-entry accounting.
04 / Switching
Moving from Space Manager to StoreBay
What comes across, how you check it, and what you set up again.
- 1
We bring your records across
Your customers, units and agreements come across in a guided import that our team runs with you.
- 2
You check before anything is saved
Every import runs as a dry run first, so you see exactly what will be created before anything is saved.
- 3
Payment details are planned separately
Saved cards and Direct Debit instructions don’t come across in the import. We plan that part with you before you switch.
Before you give notice to Space Manager
Check your agreement’s term
Space Manager’s Spaceman Cloud terms of service say the agreement renews automatically for successive one-year terms after the initial term. Check the date your current term ends, and that these are the terms your agreement uses.
Check the price increase
Its Spaceman Cloud terms of service also set an annual price increase from the start of each renewal term. Check the figure in your own agreement before the renewal date.
Ask for the notice in writing
Ask in writing how much notice your agreement needs, how you get your data back, and the date your account will close.
Keep your own copy
Download the reports, invoices and records you want to keep before your account closes.
05 / Support
Support, onboarding and moving your data
| StoreBay | Space Manager | |
|---|---|---|
| Support | StoreBayEmail from our UK team, Monday to Friday, 9am to 5:30pm. We aim to reply within one working day. | Space ManagerIts Spaceman Cloud terms of service give every customer Basic support: email only, 9am to 5pm UK time on weekdays, with a response within 48 hours in business hours. Premium support, which you choose on the order form, adds phone and online chat, 8am to 6pm UK time on weekdays, and a response within 24 hours in business hours. Its website also gives a phone number for its support team, and Capterra UK lists phone and chat support: check which level your order form gives. |
| Onboarding | StoreBayIncluded: our team sets you up, as part of the plan. | Space ManagerIts onboarding team can help with migrating your data and configuring the platform. It says smaller facilities may finish in a matter of weeks, and larger portfolios may need more time. |
| Moving your data | StoreBayOur team brings your customers, units and agreements across, with a preview before anything is saved. Saved cards and Direct Debit instructions are planned separately, with you. | Space ManagerIt says many storage operators move to Space Manager from other platforms, and that its onboarding team can help migrate your data. |
06 / Questions
StoreBay and Space Manager: common questions
07 / How we compared
How we compared, and our sources
Read on the day, in a browser
We read Space Manager’s website and help pages, its Capterra UK listing, its SSA UK directory entry and the Companies House record of the company that sells it in a real browser on 9 October 2026, and kept the text we quote. Its Spaceman Cloud terms of service are a PDF, which we fetched and read as text.
No guessed prices
We found no price list for its software on Space Manager’s website, so this page prints no Space Manager price. We never estimate one.
“No public evidence” is not “no”
When we can’t find something on a vendor’s public pages, we say exactly that and nothing stronger.
StoreBay’s column is what’s live today
StoreBay’s column describes the product as it is today. Anything not live yet is marked “Coming soon”, and anything we don’t offer is marked “No”.
Sources · all checked 9 October 2026
- Space Manager: home
- Space Manager: pricing
- Space Manager: platform
- Space Manager: integrations
- Space Manager: payments
- Space Manager: reporting
- Space Manager: why Space Manager
- Space Manager: FAQs
- Space Manager: support ticket form
- Space Manager: Spaceman Shop and Portal guide
- Space Manager: Spaceman Shop access control
- Space Manager: Signable in Spaceman Shop
- Space Manager: Stripe set-up for Spaceman Shop
- Space Manager: GoCardless guide
- Space Manager: release notes, February 2026
- Space Manager: release notes, March 2026
- Space Manager: release notes, May 2026
- Space Manager: news, DocuSign
- Space Manager: news, Stripe ID checks and terminals
- Space Manager: news, GoCardless
- Space Manager: news, SMS sending
- Space Manager: news, the countries it serves
- Space Manager: Spaceman Cloud terms of service (PDF)
- Space Manager on Capterra UK
- Space Manager on the SSA UK supplier directory
- Companies House: the company that sells Space Manager (02696335)
- StoreBay pricing
Space Manager is a trade mark of its owner. StoreBay is not affiliated with Space Manager. Facts about Space Manager come from the public pages listed under Sources, on the dates shown; tell us if something has changed.
One plan · every site included
Ready to compare StoreBay with Space Manager on your own numbers?
No obligation · UK-based support