Compare · Checked
How StoreBay compares.
Seven head-to-heads with other self-storage platforms, each checked against public pages and dated, with every source listed. Every one shows where the other platform is stronger.
StoreBay vs Stora
Stora’s published prices to 2,000 units; gate control and API from Advanced.
Read the comparisonStoreBay vs Storman
Over 30 years’ experience, seven named access partners and a REST API. Quote only.
Read the comparisonStoreBay vs Storeganise
A price calculator, an open API on every plan and a valet module.
Read the comparisonStoreBay vs Kinnovis
Its own access hardware and UK Bacs Direct Debit. Quote only.
Read the comparisonStoreBay vs SiteLink
US-based, with SOC 1 and PCI Level 1. Usually one licence per location.
Read the comparisonStoreBay vs 6Storage
Its own access system and several currencies; its Open API is coming soon.
Read the comparisonStoreBay vs Space Manager
At least ten access providers; 4.7 from 7 reviews on Capterra UK. Quote only.
Read the comparison01 / The matrix
Every platform, the same questions
Every vendor is asked the same questions in the same order, including the ones StoreBay loses.
- Available
- Partly
- Higher plan only
- Coming soon
- No
- No public evidence
| Capability | StoreBay | Stora | Storman | Storeganise | Kinnovis | SiteLink | 6Storage | Space Manager |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fill more units | ||||||||
| Website and online booking | IncludedYour own website; customers book and pay online | Every planCustomisable website and online bookings | Via StorNow DigitalWebsite packages; customers book and pay online | Booking portal includedWebsite builder: $25 a month extra | Free website includedBuilt by Amax Marketing, with online booking | Free website includedCustomers book, pay and e-sign online | Website service add-onCustomers book, reserve and pay online | Online booking (Spaceman Shop)Book and pay by Stripe; links from your site |
| Licence signed online | IncludedSigned in checkout or from an emailed link | Every planBuilt-in contracts, signed online at check-in | Own e-signSigned online, from an emailed link or in store | Own e-signSigned online during booking | E-sign via SignableUses your Signable account; sent on booking | Own e-sign, no added costSigned online, by email or in store | Own e-signSigned online; contracts built from templates | E-sign via SignableYour Signable account; sent after paying |
| Automate the day-to-day | ||||||||
| Bacs Direct Debit | IncludedThrough your own GoCardless account | UK Direct DebitFee: 1% per payment, minimum 30p | Direct Debit namedBacs and UK detail not stated | Bacs via your gatewayBacs named, depending on the gateways you enable | UK Bacs Direct DebitOne-off or recurring, added in 2024 | Bacs not statedNames US ACH/EFT bank drafts | Bacs not statedNames ACH (US) and SEPA (euro); no UK scheme named | Bacs via GoCardlessTransactions created after invoicing; staff send them |
| Reminders and late fees | IncludedEmail and text reminders on your schedule; late fees | Automatic remindersLate fees: one click per overdue invoice | IncludedAutomated late letters, fees and gate lockouts | Automatic reminders, late feesAlso retries failed cards and locks out overdue accounts | IncludedAutomatic late fees and overdue email alerts | Through partnersPast-due notices via partners; Capterra lists late-fee calculation | Automatic reminders, late feesListed in its payment and invoicing features | Late fees and late lettersLate charges follow grace days; letters previewed at start-up |
| Gate and lock control | IncludedConnected to the gate system you run, at setup | Advanced plan and upSmart entry integrations; late payers locked out | Seven named partnersPaxton, Nokē, PTI and others; overdue lockout | Partner integrationsPaxton, Nokē, PTI and others; overdue lockout | Own system plus partnersLate payers’ units overlock automatically | Own product plus partnersAccess Control by Storable; lockouts for late payers | Own system plus partners6Security locks out customers with past-due balances | At least ten access providersOverlock removal is mentioned; late-payer lock-out not stated |
| Run every site from one place | ||||||||
| Every site, one view | IncludedReports across sites and live site maps | Every planUnlimited sites; performance across sites | IncludedCompany reporting benchmarks sites or regions | One login, every siteDashboards for occupancy and revenue across sites | IncludedSeveral sites in one account; filter by site | Corporate Control CenterConsolidated multi-store reports and dashboards | One login, every siteEvery location’s details within one account | Several sites, one platformPerformance and billing across facilities |
| API and webhooks | IncludedAPI keys and webhooks, on the one plan | Advanced plan and upPublic docs and signed webhooks | REST APIPublic docs and webhooks not found | Every subscriptionOpen API, public docs and signed webhooks | Public APISandbox and documentation; webhooks not found | In-house and partner APIPublic docs and webhooks not found | Coming soonIts integrations page lists Open API as coming soon | API access, as a moduleNo public documentation found |
| Trust | ||||||||
| UK data hosting | LondonPrimary data in DigitalOcean’s London data centre | Core hosting in the EUApplication and database, per its terms | Hosted locally, it saysIts privacy policy says it may be hosted in Australia | UK hosting not statedNo hosting location named in its terms or privacy policy | UK hosting not statedAustrian company; hosting location not named | UK hosting not statedUS-based; hosting location not named | UK hosting not statedNames in-country hosting for Canada only | UK hosting not statedHosting location not named |
| Public reviews | None yetStoreBay is new | 4.8 from 21 reviewsCapterra UK, 13 October 2026 | 4.4 from 9 reviewsCapterra UK, 13 October 2026 | 4.7 from 18 reviewsCapterra UK, 13 October 2026 | 4.7 from 21 reviewsCapterra UK, 13 October 2026 | 4.7 from 452 reviewsCapterra UK, as SiteLink Web Edition, 13 October 2026 | 4.7 from 90 reviewsCapterra UK, 13 October 2026 | 4.7 from 7 reviewsCapterra UK, 13 October 2026 |
| Security certification | None yetNo independent certification or audit report | ISO/IEC 27001 certifiedSoftware, portals and support, per its trust centre | PCI DSS Level 1For Storman Payment Services, per its UK site | None namedLists encryption, daily backups and GDPR compliance | None namedSays it fully complies with the GDPR | SOC 1, PCI Level 1SOC 1 Type II and PCI DSS, as it states | None namedIts DPA offers yearly security audits on request | None namedDescribes card payments as PCI-compliant |
| Price | ||||||||
| Published prices | PublishedA calculator on our pricing page | Price calculatorThree plans, priced by units up to 2,000 | Quote on requestWe found no price list on its website | Price calculatorPriced by locations, units and billing period | Quote on requestA custom pricing breakdown on request | No price listFee plus subscription per licence; no figures | Quote on requestNo fixed prices; quotes on unit count | Quote on requestTailored pricing estimate; priced by units |
| Extra sites included | IncludedEvery site on the one plan | IncludedUnlimited sites; no site charge listed | Not publishedQuote on request | Included up to 200 unitsFrom 250 units, more locations can raise the price | Not publishedPriced by number of units | Usually a licence eachMost operators need one licence per location | Not publishedQuote on request | Not publishedNumber of facilities may affect price |
“No public evidence” means we looked on the vendor’s public pages and couldn’t find it, never that the vendor lacks it. Each comparison lists its sources and the date we checked them.
02 / If you are leaving a platform
Alternatives to the platform you use now
Stora alternatives (UK)
Seven Stora alternatives by situation, with the cost of staying, Stora’s reviews counted and the steps for leaving.
Read the pageSpace Manager alternatives (UK)
Seven Space Manager alternatives by situation, with its terms read, its reviews counted and the steps for leaving.
Read the pageStorman alternatives (UK)
Seven Storman alternatives by situation, with its UK terms read, its reviews counted and the steps for leaving.
Read the pageSiteLink alternatives (UK)
Seven SiteLink alternatives by situation, with its terms read, its reviews counted and the steps for leaving.
Read the page03 / Before you choose
What to ask any vendor
Eight questions worth putting to any platform you’re considering, including us.
- 01
Is the price published?
A published price lets you work out next year’s bill before you talk to sales, and see what changes as you grow.
- 02
What does another site cost?
Some platforms price per site or per location. If you plan to grow, ask for the price at the size you expect to be, not the size you are.
- 03
How is Direct Debit collected, and whose account is it in?
Bacs Direct Debit is a common way for UK customers to pay monthly. Ask whose account the Direct Debit instructions sit in, and whether they move with you if you leave.
- 04
Which gate and lock systems does it connect to?
Ask which systems it connects to, who sets one up, and whether a late payer is locked out automatically or by staff.
- 05
Is there an API, and on which plan?
An API connects your accounting, website and other tools. Some platforms include it on every plan; some keep it to higher ones.
- 06
Where is the data hosted, and is the security certified?
Ask which country holds your customers’ data, and whether an independent body has certified the supplier’s security, such as ISO 27001 or SOC 2.
- 07
What moves when you switch, and what doesn’t?
Records such as customers, units and agreements usually move. Saved cards and Direct Debit instructions often need a separate plan.
- 08
What support is included, and when?
Check the hours, the channels, and whether faster support costs more.
04 / How we compare
How to read these pages
Every fact is dated and sourced
We read each vendor’s own pages, and its Capterra UK listing, in a real browser and date what we find. Prices and packaging change, and a comparison without a date can’t be checked.
“No public evidence” is not “no”
When we can’t find something on a vendor’s public pages, we say exactly that and nothing stronger.
No guessed prices
Where a vendor publishes no price list, we say so and stop. We never estimate a price on its behalf.
Every page says where the other side is stronger
Each head-to-head has a section on what the other platform does better. StoreBay is the newer platform, and that matters too.
Product names are trade marks of their owners, used here to identify them. StoreBay is not affiliated with any of them. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.
05 / Buying guides
The wider market
Best self storage software UK (2026)
Eight platforms side by side: Capterra UK ratings, pricing transparency and UK presence, every claim dated. StoreBay appears in the list, and says so.
Read the guideSelf storage software cost (UK)
The few prices that are published, the three ways software is priced, and the five costs that decide the real total.
Read the guide